Skip to main content

Writing Guides and Manuals: Citation Builders & Managers

Writing Guides and Manuals resources

Other Useful Guide

RefWorks Research Guide

This Research Guide shows you how to access and import references from Google Scholar and different databases such as EBSCOhost Research Databases and ScienceDirect.



RefWorks

RefWorks

It is a web-based research management tool that allows users to build personal citation databases and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles: ACS, APA, CBE, MLA, Chicago, amongst others. References can be imported from text files or selected literature databases or added manually. HKUST Users can also create in-text references and footnotes within MS Word. First-time users are required to sign up for an individual account.

DocsCite

A step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format.

Son of Citation Machine

Generates bibliographic citations in MLA, APA and Chicago format from information entered in a form. Includes templates for books, interviews, web sites, online forum postings, and articles from magazines, newspapers, print journals, online publications, etc.

LaTex

A document markup language and document preparation system for the TeX typesetting program. It is quite popular in mathematics and engineering, and other disciplines that display lots of equations and mathematics. It is available for free via FTP. You can also visit Text Processing using LaTex from Cambridge University's department of engineering to learn more.

BibTex is the bibliographic management part of LaTex. Tame the BeaST by Nicholas Markey provides a thorough tutorial to using BibTex.

Zotero

It is a free and easy-to-use web browser extension which helps you to collect, organize and create references and bibliographies. 

Reference Librarian

Kevin Ho's picture
Kevin Ho
Contact:
HKUST Library
23586761
© HKUST Library