Skip to main content

Science Research: Databases

Databases - Life Science

Abstracts of Journal Articles, Conference Papers, and Technical Reports (Linked to the full-text of electronic resources subscribed to by the Library)

ProQuest provides access to about 35 different databases in the fields of life science (aquatic science, biotechnology, environment, medicine, etc.), engineering, humanities and social sciences.

PubMed (1950-) provides abstracts of articles in approximately 5,000 journals in biomedicine and life science. Through the same interface, users can also access US National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)'s other databases which contain DNA sequences, protein sequences, biomolecule 3D structures, complete genomes etc.

Web of Science (1991-) provides abstracts of articles in over 6,700 journals in science and engineering. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. Search Guide.

Scopus (1966-) provides abstracts of articles and papers in 16,000 journals and 750 conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Search Guide.

Abstracts/Full Text of Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses

HKUST Electronic Theses provides abstracts and full-text of HKUST doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I (1861-) provides abstracts of doctoral dissertations and master's theses accepted by over 1,000 universities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Hong Kong, and other regions. It provides 24-page previews of dissertations/theses published since 1997. Free full-text is only restricted to business dissertations worldwide and HKUST dissertations. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards.

Full Text of Patents

中华人民共和国国家知识产权局专利数据库 provides abstracts and full-text of Chinese patents.

Esp@cenet is maintained by the European Patent Office. It provides abstracts and full-text of patents worldwide.

USPTO Web Patent Databases are maintained by the US Patent and Trademark Office. The databases provide abstracts and full-text of US patents.

Handbooks

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology is an authoritative manual used in laboratories worldwide for effective, reliable methods in molecular biology research. It includes chapters on protein analysis, DNA sequencing, preparation of DNA and RNA, in situ hybridization and immunohistochemistry.

Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry provides step-by-step laboratory procedures for the synthesis, modification, purification, analysis, and utilization of nucleic acids. It includes everything from the basic fundamentals of lab work to the most cutting-edge methods. All protocols have been contributed by leading investigators in the field

Knovel provides the full-text of thousands of handbooks across the engineering and science subjects. It's "Data Search" feature allows users to search for science and engineering data directly.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

A dictionary of biology
(E-Resources QH302.5 .D54 2008eb)
A dictionary of ecology
(E-Resources QH540.4 .C66 2005)
A dictionary of zoology
(E-Resources QL9 .C66 2009eb)
Encyclopedic dictionary of genetics, genomics, and proteomics
(E-resources QH427 .R43 2003)
Wiley encyclopedia of biomedical engineering
(E-resources R856.A3 .W55 2006)
The encyclopedia of cancer
(E-Resources RC262 .T86 2005)
Encyclopedia of genetics
(E-Resources QH427 .E53 2004)
Encyclopedia of genetics, genomics, proteomics and informatics
(E-Resources 2008)
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
(E-Resources QH302.5 .E53 2006)
Encyclopedic reference of genomics and proteomics in molecular medicine
(E-Resources 2006)
Encyclopedia of underwater life: : aquatic invertebrates and fishes
(E-Resources QL120 .E63 2005eb)
McGraw-Hill dictionary of bioscience
(E-Resources QH302.5 .M382 2003)
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology
(E-Resources QP512 .O94 2006)

Databases - Chemistry

Abstracts of Journal Articles, Conference Papers, and Technical Reports (Linked to the full-text of electronic resources subscribed to by the Library)

Web of Science (1991-) provides abstracts of articles in over 6,700 journals in science and engineering. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. Search Guide.

SciFinder (1907-) provides abstracts of articles in 10,000 journals, as well as conference papers, patents, technical reports, chemistry and dissertations in chemistry, chemical engineering, and biomedicine. It also contains information on 51 million organic and inorganic substances, and 22 million single- and multi-step reactions. Users can search by author, research topic, molecular formula, CAS Registry Number, chemical name, structure or reaction etc.

Scopus (1966-) provides abstracts of articles in 16,000 academic journals and 750 conference proceedings, Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The database also contains the references cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Search Guide.

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. It consists of three linked databases, PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay, within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology of the USA, this database provides data of thermochemistry (5,000 compounds), enthalpy of reaction (3,000 reactions), infrared spectra (5,000 compounds), mass spectra (8,000 compounds), ion energetics (14,000 compounds), etc. Data can be searched by name, chemical formula, Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number, molecular weight, ionization energy, or proton affinity.

Other useful databases such as JoVE Science Education Databases, RSC Ebooks, etc.

Abstracts/Full Text of Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses

HKUST Electronic Theses provides abstracts and full-text of HKUST doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I (1861-) provides abstracts of doctoral dissertations and master's theses accepted by over 1,000 universities in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Hong Kong, and other regions. It provides 24-page previews of dissertations/theses published since 1997. Free full-text is only restricted to business dissertations worldwide and HKUST dissertations. Users can place online orders using their own credit cards.

Full Text of Patents

中华人民共和国国家知识产权局专利数据库 provides abstracts and full-text of Chinese patents.

Esp@cenet is maintained by the European Patent Office. It provides abstracts and full-text of patents worldwide.

USPTO Web Patent Databases are maintained by the US Patent and Trademark Office. The databases provide abstracts and full-text of US patents.

Dictionaries (Compounds) and Encyclopedias

Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry provides step-by-step laboratory procedures for the synthesis, modification, purification, analysis, and utilization of nucleic acids. It includes everything from the basic fundamentals of lab work to the most cutting-edge methods. All protocols have been contributed by leading investigators in the field

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology covers the fundamental principles, theories, and methodologies of nanoscience and nanotechnology as well as their applications in materials and surface science, mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering, computer technology, chemistry, biomedicine, and many other areas.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science & Technology provides the full-text of over 500 articles covering all areas of polymer science, such as polymers, plastics, fibres, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization, etc.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology provides the full-text of over 1,000 articles covering all areas of chemical technology.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry provides the full-text of over 1,000 articles covering all areas of industrial chemistry.

Physical and Chemical Data Sources

Index to Physical, Chemical, and Other Property Data is maintained by Arizona State University's Noble Science and Engineering Library. This site lists properties alphabetically and cites sources of the data. Most sources listed are reference books in the collection of the Noble Library, a few are chemical compound databases on the Web.

Knovel provides the full-text of thousands of handbooks across the engineering and science subjects. It's "Data Search" feature allows users to search for science and engineering data directly.

Materials Safety Data Banks

Sigma-Aldrich (MSDS) contains over 130,000 Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) from the US Sigma-Aldrich chemical company. An MSDS clearly defines a chemical, giving its composition, identifying any hazardous properties, outlining first-aid treatment in case of accidental body contact, and pointing out special firefighting procedures that might be needed. It also contains suggestions for responding to an accidental release of the chemical and for everyday product handling and storage.

CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Databases contain about 120,000 MSDS Data Sheets from North American chemical manufacturers and suppliers as well as toxicological data on over 140,000 chemical substances.

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.