Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks: RefWorks Citation Manager (Mac & post-2016 Word)

Warning: Write N' Cite not supoorted for post-2016 Word!!

Write N Cite works on older versions of Word that are incompatible with RefWorks Citation Manager.

Install RefWorks for Citation Manager

Requirements

RefWorks Citation Manager can run on any of the following applications:

  • Microsoft Word for Windows 2016
  • Microsoft Word for Mac 2016
  • Microsoft Word for iPad
You do not need administrator access to install the RefWorks Citation Manager.

Installing RefWorks Citation Manager

  1. In Microsoft Word, select Insert > Store and search for RefWorks or ProQuest.

  2. Select Add in the row for RefWorks Citation ManagerReference Citation Manager is installed and opens in the right sidebar.
    If you close the sidebar, you can redisplay it by selecting Insert > My Add-ins > RefWorks Citation Manager.

    RefWorks-Citation-Manager-image2.jpg

    RefWorks Citation Manager - Not Logged In
  3. Log in to RefWorks. If single sign-on is enabled for your institution, follow the on-screen instructions to log in using single sign-on. Synchronizing data with your RefWorks account may take a few moments, especially on your first login. Once you are logged in, the sidebar updates with your references.

    If someone else was logged in to this instance of Word, select Log Out in the action menu and log back into your account.

    RefWorks-Citation-Manager-image3.jpg

    RefWorks Citation Manager - Logged In

    An action menu is available on the left of the sidebar. In addition, a configuration menu is available when you select the top right of the sidebar.

    refworks_citation_manager_configure_icon.png

    Action and Configuration Menu Icons
  4. To set the style for all citations, select Change citation style in the action menu. A dialog box appears in the right sidebar. Select the style (defined in RefWorks) and select Update. Every time you perform this action, all references in the document, and the bibliography, update to the new style.

Use RefWorks Citation Manager

To insert a reference as text:

Select the reference and select Quick Cite. When you do, two things are added to your document:

  • Text is inserted directly into the document.
  • A bibliography of references is created at the end of the document. If the bibliography already exists, the reference is added to it.
To configure the reference before inserting it (or to add it as a footnote):
  1. Select the reference and select Preview & Edit. The Preview & Edit pane appears. Full reference information is at the bottom of the pane.

    refworks_for_google_docs_edit_citation.png

    Preview & Edit
  2. Select whether to insert the reference in-text or as a footnote.
  3. Optionally configure whether to change the page numbers, hide the author, or hide the publication year. A preview of both the text and the bibliography reference appears in the pane.
  4. Optionally add a prefix or suffix text to the reference.
  5. Select Insert Citation. The reference is added as a block element and an entry for the reference is added to the bibliography.

Additional actions:

  • Edit a reference – Move your cursor to anywhere in the reference. The reference information opens in the right sidebar.
  • Delete a reference – Select the entire reference, either by highlighting with your mouse or by selecting the block element and press Delete
  • Format for footnotes – Select to pre-select the Footnote option for adding references.
  • Refresh RefWorks – If for some reason you need to refresh the RefWorks pane, select Reload in the configuration menu.
  • View Source – For support use.
  • Security Info – Microsoft information about the plugin.

To get help, select Ex Libris Knowledge Center in the action menu or Get Support in the configuration menu.

About: RefWorks Citation Manager

Refworks Citation Manager

  • A plugin for Microsoft Word that lets you run a simplified version of RefWorks inside of Word.
  • Allows you to  access and cite your references while working in Word, even if you are currently offline.
  •  Available through the Microsoft Store & can be installed directly from Microsoft Word.
  • Automatically updates when a new version becomes available.

How it works

  • Automatically syncs with your RefWorks account every time you log in
  • Oflline, gives read-only access to your RefWorks account,
    • You can view & insert your previously collated references into your document, formatted using your previously defined citation styles.
  • Uses codes to represent your references and bibliography entries, manage & update them
    • You can't  manage references added as plain text.
    • Codes appear as plain text when viewing or printing  (surrounded by light square brackets)
  • Add references in-line with the text or as a footnote.
    • Adding a reference also adds a bibliography to the end of the document.
    • As you add or remove references, the plugin automatically updates the bibliography.
  • Enables you to bulk switch and re-format all references & bibliography
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.