Search
There are 3 ways to search the database. Specify your criteria in one of the search types: Words, Browse Subjects and Featured Topic.
Words
From the pull-down menu, specify whether the word(s) should appear anywhere in the documents and/or the Headline only, then type the search word(s) in the box, e.g,
- mba ranking -- Find records that contain both "mba" and "ranking";
Limit your search - more options
- Source: Choose "All Sources" or any one of the publications on the pull-down menu.
- Date Published: Use the date range dropdown to restrict your search to documents published within a particular timeframe.
- Sort Results By: You may choose to sort the results by date (ascending or descending).
Browse Subjects
Input a few letters in the box, click the "Browse Subject" button to see subject terms starting with the letters, e.g., polit finds all terms starting with "polit", including "politics" and "political parties"
Subject terms are assigned by librarians to provide a systematic and controlled approach for searching. There are four types of subject terms:
Topics:
-
Terms are in English, e.g., research, university funding, campus security
Persons' names:
- Most names are indexed in both English and Chinese, e.g., chan tony or 陳繁昌;
- Type surname first, and then given name, e.g., tung chee hwa, but not "chee hwa tung"
- Finding names in natural order, e.g., nancy ip returns the proper name entry "IP Nancy Y"
- Some names are only in Chinese or in English
Departments, offices, organizations, awards and projects:
- HKUST's departments or offices are indexed in full names as well as common acronyms, e.g., department of biochemistry or bich, student affairs office or sao;
- Government units and personnel start with "HKSAR", e.g., hksar labour department, hksar chief executive;
- Some outside organizations, awards and projects may have their names in both English and Chinese, e.g., hong kong science park or 香港科學園, chinese natural science award or 國家自然科學獎.
Finding related terms:
- e.g., cell also finds "mobile phones" because "cellular phones" is a related term
Featured Topics
These are selective articles with substantial coverage on various topics that are of interest to the HKUST community. Simply click a topic to see the list of records included.
View Records
On the search results screen, click the headline or the "Full text available" link to display the full text of an article. If full text is not available, the "Metadata only" link shows only the indexing details of a record.
Access Authentication
- There is no restriction for users to search the database and view the metadata.
- Access to the full text requires ITSC authentication.
Full Text Format
- Full text of articles are in HTML format or PDF format.
Full Text Availability
- Due to the Copyright Ordinance taking effect in late 2001, articles from Media Review dating before October 1996 are not included; after October 2001, articles mentioned in Media Review but not included in WiseNews are also not available; the hard copies of Media Review (1992-November 2023) and its clippings (1992-October 2001) are housed in the University Archives in the Library.
- WiseNews is currently the only source of content for this database;
- Due to publisher restrictions, starting January 2005 the full-text of articles from the South China Morning Post are not available.
