Skip to Main Content

MGMT 2110 - Organizational Behavior (Fall 2023): Other Helpful Databases

ProQuest

ProQuest-- A platform consisting of multiple databases which provide access to the full text of a large collection of journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. in various disciplines.

To access, go to Library Home > Databases > P > ProQuest

Key search steps:

  • Use "Advanced Search"
  • Source type: Scholarly journals
  • Refine your results (search fields, date range, etc.)
  • Check the cited references in a relevant article; these references can be useful to your paper
  • Save references in APA format

To learn how to navigate ProQuest, visit the database guide.

Citation Chaining - What is it & Why it matters

Citation chaining helps you quickly find related articles through citations. It is an essential technique to support your literature review process.

You can do backward and forward searching based on an article in hand.

◀◀  Backward searching

A "perfect" article you have in hand

 Forward searching  ▶▶
  • finds articles the author used. These articles are usually called: 

"References", "Cited Articles", "Cited Documents"

  • helps you track classical and foundational studies
  • finds articles who used this article. These articles are usually called:

"Citing Articles", "Citing Documents"

  • helps you track latest development on your topic

Citation Chaining in Databases

Web of Science

Click on the no. of citations or references to explore related articles.

Sample record on Web of Science: Aerodynamic analysis of SARS-CoV-2 in two Wuhan hospitals (citation information accurate as of 11 Aug 2022)

"15" Citations

Find articles cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"1,020" Cited References

Find articles that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

 

 

Read the most relevant articles first

The article you have in hand may have hundreds of citations or references, but not all of them are equally important to your research. Those that are appearing in the Discussion part may be more interesting than those appearing in the Introduction part.

These two unique features on Web of Science help you identify these articles.
 

Select citing articles by classification


Citing items by classification feature helps you identify articles by showing if they "support", "differ", or "discuss" the findings in the article in hand. 

Learn more in this post.

Select references in context


Enriched Cited References feature helps you identify articles by showing their location (e.g. Introduction, Discussion) in the article in hand. 

Learn more in this post.

Try these features on this sample article 

Scopus

Navigate to the Cited by or References sections to explore related articles.

Sample record on Web of Science: Aerodynamic analysis of SARS-CoV-2 in two Wuhan hospitals (citation information accurate as of 11 Aug 2022)

 

"References (15)"

Find articles cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"1013" Citations in Scopus

Find articles that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

 

 

IEEE Xplore 

A database to find journals and conference articles, and patents in electrical and electrical engineering fields.

Click on the no. of citations or navigate to the References and Citations sections to explore related articles.

Sample record on IEEE Xplore: A Novel Single-Inductor Dual-Input Dual-Output DC-DC Converter With PWM Control for Solar Energy Harvesting System  (citation information accurate as of 20 Jul 2022)

"References"

Find articles cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"58" Paper Citations

Find articles that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

 

"2" Patent Citations

Find patents that are citing this article

SciFinder-n

A database to find literature in chemistry-related fields.

Navigate to the Citing or Cited Documents sections to explore related articles.

Sample record on SciFinder-n: Single-atom catalyst for high-performance methanol oxidation  (citation information accurate as of 21 Jul 2022)

"Cited Documents"

Find articles cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"Citing (17)"

Find articles that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

 

Citation Map

Visualize the relations of citing and cited articles. Learn more here.

(Unique feature in SciFinder-n)

PubMed

Largest database for biomedical literature.

Navigate to the Cited by and References sections to explore related articles.

Sample record on PubMed: Aerodynamic analysis of SARS-CoV-2 in two Wuhan hospitals (citation information accuracy as of 21 Jul 2022)

"References"

Find documents cited in this article

(Backward searching)

 

"Cited by"

Find documents that are citing this article

(Forward searching)

Factiva

Factiva -- A huge news article and business information database, which covers over 32,000 sources from 200 countries in 28 languages.

To access, go to Library Home > Databases > F > Factiva

Examples of sources:

  • Newspapers: South China Morning Post, The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, The Guardian, Straits Times, etc.
  • Magazines, Journals & Tade Publications: Forbes, Newsweek, etc.
  • Newswires: Reuters, Dow Jones, The Associated Press, etc.
  • TV or Radio Podcasts: BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, etc.

To learn how to navigate Factiva, visit the database guide.

Citation Chaining in PowerSearch

PowerSearch

Click these icons near the article title or on the article record page to explore related articles.

Near article title from result list:

On the article record page:

 

Find sources cited in this article, i.e. "references"

(Backward searching)

Find sources that are citing this article 

(Forward searching)

See a sample article

Remember:

The citing or cited articles you got are those available in PowerSearch. Try multiple platforms if you want to get more exhausive results.

Citation Chaining on Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Click on the citation numbers to explore related articles.

  • Cited by # - Find articles that are citing this article (Forward searching)

Can also check:

  • Related articles - Find more related works based on Google's algorithm

Sample record on Google Scholar: Aerodynamic analysis of SARS-CoV-2 in two Wuhan hospitals (citation information accuracy as of 21 Jul 2022)

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.