Skip to main content

Literature: Databases & Web

Guide to Literature resources

Databases

Databases

四庫全書電子版 = Siku Quanshu

Contains the full-text of the Wenyuange edition of Sikuq Quanshu. Over 3,400 types of classical Chinese texts are organized into 經 (jing), 史 (shi), 子(zi), 集(ji), making up a total of 8 hundred million characters. Users can search by keywords, authors and publication titles or broad categories. Search results can be displayed in the edited version or in the original image version. Printing of documents is supported. This software can be access either from Library's Windows computer by clicking the Start > Programs > menu , or installing on your own on-campus Windows computer.

中國期刊全文數據庫- 文史哲輯專欄 = CAJ Full-Text Database - Literature, History and Philosophy Series

  The Library subscribes to three series of the CAJ Full-Text Database: Literature, History and Philosophy; Education and Social Sciences; and  
  Economics, Politics and Law, providing access to over 4,000 core journals published in Mainland China in these subject areas. It supports full-text 
  searching or searching in specific fields such as author, title, keyword, abstract, journal name,and reference. Images of articles can either be viewed
  in PDF or CAJ format.


Bibliography of Asian Studies

Provides access to over 410,000 citations pertaining to all parts of Asia. It indexes western-language journal articles, books and book chapters, mostly in the humanities and social sciences. Users can search via keyword or browse by subject, journal title or country. This database cumulates all entries of its printed editions from 1971 to 1991, with additional citations compiled after 1991.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman — from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. 11,000 articles cover a a range of subjects including literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science and religion.

EBSCOhost Research Databases

Consists of eighteen databases which provide access to the full text/images of a large collection of ebooks, journals, magazines, reports, and newspapers in various disciplines. Cross searching among the databases is allowed.

JSTOR

Offers the full-text of over 1,000 core journals in a wide range of disciplines going back to their first issues.  As an archival database, issues of recent 3-5 years are not available. Both browsing and full-text searching are supported. Hundreds of ebooks, mainly university presses, are now available on the same platform.

MLA International Bibliography

Published by the Modern Language Association, this database contains over 2.2 million citations of books, articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. More than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers are indexed. In addition to the MLA Directory of Periodicals, this database also provides direct links to the full-text documents of the JSTOR's Language and Literature Collection.

More databases at PowerSearch...

Internet Resources

Literary Resources on the Net
A site maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers University, it provides annotated links to mainly English and American literature sites

VoS:  Voice of the Shuttle
This site includes links to internet resources covering literature and literary theory.

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.