Library databases are searchable collections of authoritative, up-to-date, and accurate information from trusted sources like:
The Library subscribes to these so you can access high-quality, reliable information for free.
Here are the lists of HKUST Library's databases.
Doctorate level dissertations are sources of original research, and they can usually be found at the university at which they were completed.
The are also called PhD theses.
Visit the E-Thesis submission LibGuide if you have questions about how to submit your own thesis.
Acronym for Digital Object Identifier. It is a unique alphanumeric string assigned by the publisher to a digital object.
Also known as an e-journal, it may be a digital version of a print journal or a journal-like publication with no print counterpart. Links to e-journals are in a journal's PowerSearch record.
You can also search only the e-journals from this page.
Fair Dealing for the Purposes of Giving or Receiving Instruction is a provision of the Hong Kong Copyright ordinance that allows limited use of copyrighted material for teaching and learning. It is somewhat different & more limited in scope than "Fair Use"
Fair use is a limitation and exception to the exclusive right granted by copyright law to the author of a creative work in the USA. In United States copyright law, fair use is a doctrine that permits limited use of copyrighted material without acquiring permission from the rights holders.
The complete work in either print, electronic, or microfilm format.
The materials owned or held by a library.
You may place holds on checked-out books and media, and on 3-day and 7-day reserve items, or on books or media with a status of "On order" or "In processing". Once the requested item becomes available, you will receive a pick-up notice. If you're not sure how to place holds, watch this video.
1. A list of names or topics, usually found at the end of a publication, that directs you to the pages where those names or topics are discussed within the publication.
2. A printed or electronic publication that provides references to periodical articles or books by their subject, author, or other search terms.
Interlibrary loan (abbreviated ILL, and sometimes called interloan, interlending, document delivery, or document supply) is a service whereby a user of one library can borrow books or receive photocopies of documents that are owned by another library. The user makes a request with their local library, which, acting as an intermediary, identifies owners of the desired item, places the request, receives the item, makes it available to the user, and arranges for its return. The lending library usually sets the due date and overdue fees of the material borrowed. Although books and journal articles are the most frequently requested items, some libraries will lend audio recordings, video recordings, maps, sheet music, and microforms of all kinds. In many cases, nominal fees accompany interlibrary loan services.
International Standard Book Number - An international commercial book number that is supposed too be unique.
Searching with them can be useful, but you need to keep in mind the following:
If you can't find a book, after searching by ISBN, try searching it by author and title.
International Standard Serial Number - The international numerical code that identifies concisely, uniquely, and unambiguously a serial publication.
A type of periodical which contains signed scholarly articles. Journals are usually published by academic or association presses and include bibliographies.
A type of periodical which contains signed scholarly articles. Journals are usually published by academic or association presses and include bibliographies.
A list of terms that identify the main concepts in a text.
A library catalog (or library catalogue) is a register of all bibliographic items found in a library or group of libraries, such as a network of libraries at several locations. A bibliographic item can be any information entity (e.g., books, computer files, graphics, realia, cartographic materials, etc.) that is considered library material (e.g., a single novel in an anthology), or a group of library materials (e.g., a trilogy), or linked from the catalog (e.g., a webpage) as far as it is relevant to the catalog and to the users (patrons) of the library.
The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) is a system of library classification developed by the Library of Congress. It is used by most research and academic libraries in the U.S. and several other countries.
