Skip to main content

Legal Information: Databases for Legal Info

Here you will find lists of sources providing legal information available at HKUST Library, with an emphasis on Hong Kong. In addition to printed resources, relevant databases and websites are also included. Arrangement is by countries or regions.

WestLaw

Westlaw International
Is an extensive legal database which provides full-text legislation, case law and law reviews covering the jurisdictions of Hong Kong, the United Kingdom, United States, the European Union, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. Treaties and international agreements are also included.

 

Westlaw Database Guide

Find HK content on Westlaw

The default welcome page allows a combined search on all Hong Kong content.

Things to note:

  • Check the desired boxes to limit your search.
  • Enclose all phrases within a pair of double quotation marks.  By default, a space between the keywords denotes the logical connector AND.
  • Check out "Search Tips" and "List of Connectors" for how best to build your search statements.
  • Click "Natural Language" to search like Google.  The best 100 results will be retrieved.

Westlaw Search connectors

 

Search Terms and Connectors

Westlaw  Guide Meaning
"credit card" Retrieve the phrase "credit card."
"credit card"  &  fraud Both the phrase "credit card" and "fraud" will appear.
negligence /p liability "Negligence" must be within the same paragraph as "liability."
negligence /s liability "Negligence" must be within the same sentence as "liability."
"chan chi man" /5 ABC company "Chan Chi Man" must be within 5 words of "ABC company."
car automobile Retrieve either search term or both terms.
trust % charitable Exclude the word "charitable."
fraud! Retrieve "fraud," "frauds," "fraudulent," or "fraudulence."
("gm food" "genetically modified food") & (law! label!) Combine sets of related terms with brackets.


 

北大法寳. 司法案例 - PKULaw.com

北大法寳. 司法案例  - also known as PKULaw.com
This database contains a huge number of civil, criminal cases and administrative cases in the People’s Republic of China.
  • To further research, a case can be linked to all the related laws and regulations.
  • Browse and search by a number of criteria including keyword, nature of the cases, names of the parties, judges, attorneys and court, etc

Nexis-Uni

Nexis Uni

  • Extensive news & legal database
  • Has law cases and statutes of various jurisdictions including Hong Kong, UK, US, Australia, New Zealand and Canada, and US law reviews, including Hong Kong "unreported" cases.
  • License allows 15 concurrent users at a time

Nexis-Uni Search help  (text)

Nexis Uni Video Tutorials on YouTube (official)

China InfoBank

中國資訊 = China InfoBank
A web-based online service on China's news, business and legal information. It offers access to a number of full-text Chinese language databases including business news from leading local newspapers and magazines; business journals and government survey reports; and China central and municipal laws and regulations (1949-).

China InfoBank Database Guide

Search China InfoBank

Search a Database
 

Simple Search 簡易檢索

China InfoBank - Simple Search Screen

* Logical operators

  • 全部字詞命中 - Find records containing all the search terms.
  • 任意字詞命中 - Find records containing any of the search term.
  • 全部字詞不出現 - Eliminate the second term from the search, use '-'.
  • Type in your search term, e.g., 世界貿易組織, then click [檢索].
  • To search for two or more phrases, leave a space between the phrases, e.g., wto 世界貿易組織 世貿組織.
  • Beware of variants of the term used in China and try to include those variants in your search as well.

Search result is displayed as follows:

China InfoBank - Search Result

Advanced Search 專業檢索

  • Choose "專業檢索" and select a database to search.
  • Search methods are similar to Simple Search, with more options to narrow down your results: 行業分類 , 地區分類 , 文獻出處 , 起始及截止日期

China InfoBank - Advanced Search Screen

  • To browse all the documents under a category by region or by category, just click [檢索] without entering any search term in the box, [輸入字詞].
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.