Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUMA 3250 - Independent Cinema in Contemporary China: Find Free or Licensed content

Be careful

Media items can be found easily from the Internet, it doesn't mean it is legal to use it without permission. Beware of the videos/images may have been uploaded to a website without the copyright owner's permission, this is an 'infringing content' and should not be re-used. 

Find and use media items which are copyright-free or released under a Creative Commons License that allows non-commercial derivative use.

Or, find and use material that you have paid for.

Locating videos

Moving Image Archive (By Internet Archive)

"This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download"


Vimeo

Browse the Creative Commons licensed videos on Vimeo. Learn about what you can and can't do with other people’s videos on Vimeo to help you share, rework and reuse legally.


YouTube

If you are going to limit the use YouTube video with Creative Commons license, please:

  1. Login
  2. Search
  3. Click "Filter" -> Select "Creative Commons" under "Features"

 

Others

Creative Commons

A non-profit organization enables sharing and using of creative materials


The Public Domain Project

"Download thousands of historic media files for your creative projects" -- Registration is required

Locating images

Google Image Search

Click "Tools" > Selects"Usage rights" > Select license


Flickr - Creative Commons

"Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license".

No Fee Audio

Audio Archive (By Internet Archive)

"This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download"


Freesound

"Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds"


Musopen

Classical music - lots of it creative commons licensed (no charge) for non-profit use

Paying for Licensed Materials

Paying for Use - Licensing

There are some sources of "stock music" sites that sell music, but often not "famous" artists. You can search by genre or style of music and then check on the price of the licenses (prices seem to range from USD 5 to higher).

In Hong Kong there are a number of licensing group you can try; but they are not instantaneous. You may need a few weeks to settle the licensing.

  •  CASH - Composers and Authors Society of Hong Kong
  • HKRIA - Hong Kong Recording Industry Alliance  (licenses recorded music from outside HK)
  • Various labels (e.g. Universal Music)
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.