Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economic Indicators, Trends & Forecasts: Finding Items

Economic indicators are statistical measurements of business and economic conditions. They are widely used for economic analysis and forecast. Here you will find selected resources for economic indicators available at the Library and on the Internet.

Library & Internet Resources

Economic indicators are covered in various disciplines including:

Business Cycles Employment forecasting
Business forecasting Gross domestic product
Consumer Price Indexes Income forecasting
Economic Conditions Inflation (finance)
Economic Forecasting Interest rates
Economic Indicators Money supply
Foreign Exchange Rates Unemployment

 

Use Library Catalog (PowerSearch) to locate more titles in the Library. 


General Reference

The Economist Guide to Economic Indicators: Making Sense of Economies
(HA29.E28 2007)
The Global Competitiveness Report
(Multiple Location HF1414.G559)
Global Financial Stability Report Market Developments & Issues
(Multiple Location HG4523.G557)
Guide to Economic Indicators
(Ref HC103.F9 2006)
IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook
(Multiple Location HF1414.W67)
International Historical Statistics
(Multiple Titles)
World Development Indicators
(Multiple Location HC59.15 W656)

Use the following Subject Headings to locate more titles in the Library Catalog:


Databases

IMF Data (1948-)
Published by the International Monetary Fund, this online portal provides access to authoritative and harmonized global statistical information. The datasets available include: (1) International Financial Statistics, (2) Direction of Trade, (3) Balance of Payments, and (4) Government Finance Statistics. Microsoft Silverlight plugin is required for certain features.

 

OECD iLibrary
Contains main economic indicators covering a wide range of areas such as national accounts, retail sales, industrial production, consumer prices in over 40 countries.

 

World Development Indicators
(Multiple locations: HC59.15 W656 ) Provides over 500 economic time series data for 233 countries worldwide from 1970-1995.

Internet Resources

Asian Development Bank (ADB)
A mega site providing comprehensive economic analysis and data for 44 economies in Asia and the Pacific regions. The Internet version of Staistical Database System Online is a searchable database which contains selective data from 1988 to 2007.

 

European Central Bank - Statistical Data Warehouse
Powered by the European Central Bank, the Statistical Data Warehouse is a searchable database which contains statistical information and indicators for the Euro area. Data can be exported into different formats.

 

International Monetary Fund - Data & Statistics
IMF publishes a wide range of time series data for GDP growth, inflation, unemployment, balance of payments, commodity prices, etc.

 

NationMaster.com
A mega site which not only contains economic statistics but also provides data on social and environmental topics including food, disasters, energy, geography and lots more.

 

United Nations Statistics Division
Offers unrestricted access to 15 statistical databases which cover a broad range of subject areas including demographics, social, natioanl accounts, service trade, etc.

 

World Bank
The World Bank publishes statistics, cross-country analyses, and reports on global trends and development of the world economy.

 

World Economic Forum - Reports
Provides research studies and overviews on international economic and social developments and trends.

Subject Guide

Kevin Ho's picture
Kevin Ho
Contact:
HKUST Library
23586761
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.