Skip to main content

HKUST Electronic Theses Database: E-thesis Submission

HKUST Theses Submission

The Library collects all HKUST theses and dissertations in both print and electronic format. You are required to submit a PDF copy of the approved version of your theses. The electronic version must be an exact copy of the print version. The PDF copy will be loaded into the HKUST Electronic Theses database and the HKUST Institutional Repository. Doctoral dissertation will also be submitted for indexing and publishing to the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database.

Be sure to follow the HKUST Guidelines on Thesis Preparation.

Thesis Submission Procedure

Checklist:

Make sure you submit:

  • hard copies of your approved thesis to ARRO via your department
  • soft copy of your approved thesis (PDF) to Library [for the HKUST Electronic Theses Database & HKUST Institutional Repository]

Submission Procedures:

  1. Via the Electronic Thesis Submission to submit your approved thesis (PDF) and print out the confirmation email.
  2. Fill out the Electronic Thesis Agreement Form, to grant the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Library the non-exclusive right to archive your thesis in digital format, and make it freely accessible, such as over the Internet, for scholarly use.
    • Later, you will receive an email, attached with one or two generated PDF file(s).
    • Print out the generated PDF file(s), and sign it.
    • PhD students: the ProQuest/UMI Dissertation Publishing Agreement will agree to the Library, on your behalf, to submit the thesis and abstract to the world-recognized ProQuest Dissertation database for publication.
  3. Submit to your department:
    • a printout of the submission confirmation email
    • the signed Electronic Thesis Agreement Form
    • two printed copies of your approved thesis (that are identical to the PDF version)
    • PhD students: the signed ProQuest/UMI Dissertation Publishing Agreement

The two pages with your signature and your thesis advisor’s signature are NOT required for electronic submission. They will be inserted into the PDF by library staff at a later stage.

Double Check!

E-thesis PDF File Checking and Printing Service:

This simple application will double check your thesis for simple errors that require your attention before submission. It can catch even the smallest error that will prevent full submission (e.g., slight margin errors or excessive blank spaces)

Download application from PTC

  • Username: e_thesis_app
  • Password: pgso2015

For additional assistance and troubleshooting, refer to Creating PDF files for E-thesis Submission Guide Section F.

Direct inquiries to Mr. Joe Wong (ptjoe@ust.hk)

Format for Submission

In most cases, a thesis is submitted as a single PDF document. Files submitted in other formats will be rejected and will delay the approval process.

Accompanying Files

If you have additional files accompanying the PDF file, you may submit them as well.

Creating PDF Files

HKUST Library provides utilities for file conversion and PDF creation at the Information Commons (G/F) and the Learning Commons (LG1).

You may use computers at the IC/LC to create PDF files from most applications. 

  • DO NOT make a PDF file by scanning the paper copy of your thesis; the resulting file will be very big and difficult to index.
  • DO NOT lock the PDF file because staff need insert the signature page.

If you have any questions on creating a PDF file, take a look at the PDF Creation Guide or ask at the Information Commons Help Desk for assistance.

Get Assistance

Thesis Guidance

lbthesis@ust.hk

Technical Assistance

Information Commons (IC) Help Desk

Additional Contact Details

   WhatsApp (9701-1055)
   Phone (2358-6760)
   Email lbref@ust.hk

   
  Contact Subject Librarians

FAQ

Q: What are the requirements for thesis submission?

A: For thesis preparation and formatting, please visit https://rpghandbook.ust.hk/appendices-guidelines-on-thesis-preparation for more details.

For more details about thesis submission, please visit https://libguides.ust.hk/e-thesis/submission.

 

Q: Is it necessary for the electronic version and print version to be the same?

A: Yes. In any case, the electronic version must be an exact copy of the approved print version.

 

Q: Is there any format restriction for images or videos in HKUST Electronic Thesis Submission?

A: The HKUST Electronic Thesis Submission Form accepts all kinds of image or video format you provide with unlimited file size. However, please note that you may encounter problems uploading extremely large files due to network problems or other issues.

 

Q: Who holds the copyright of theses after the submission?

A: According to the University’s Intellectual Property Policy, students hold sole copyright ownership of their thesis. More details are available at the https://libguides.ust.hk/copyright.

 

Q: When will my thesis be released to the public?

A: If you did not send a request to keep the thesis confidential, your thesis will be released once all the library processes are completed. Otherwise, the thesis will be released when the confidential period ends.

 

Q: How can I order a bound copy of my thesis?

A: Library no longer provides personal thesis binding services, if you wish to bind your thesis, you may contact Mr. Kenny Fong from Publishing Technology Center at 2358 6824 for further information.

© HKUST Library