Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.
Searching and Printing
How to Search
- Enter one or more keywords in the search box, or click "Browse All" to view all available theses.
- You can further limit your search results with the following options:
- Collection - restrict your search to specific collections
- Document Type - restrict your search to specific document types
- Year Published - restrict your search by publication year
- Language - restrict your search to theses published in one or more languages
- Author - restrict your search by author name
- Subject - restrict your search to specific subject disciplines
- Degree - restrict your search to either Masters or Doctoral theses
- Department - restrict your search by department
- And decide how you would like the results to be sorted:
- by Relevance (default)
- by Title
- by Year Ascending
- by Year Descending
Viewing and Printing Full Text
- After you enter a search, the database returns a list of matching theses called your Search Results. By default, theses that the database determines are most relevant to your search terms display at the top of the list.
- Click on one of the records in the list to view the Abstract and to access the Full Text.
- Choosing the Full Text thumbnail will load the theses in PDF format for viewing with the Acrobat Reader program. If the link says "HKUST only", then you must provide a currently valid HKUST username and password in order to be granted access.
- Use Acrobat Reader to view and print pages from the theses as needed.
- The PDF file linked to the Full Text option contains the scanned images of the thesis in black and white. Color and grey-scale figures inside the thesis are scanned separately, and can be displayed by using the Figures hyperlink(s).