Data Curation & Management Toolkit: Share & Find Data outside HKUST

These repositories are places where you can put your own data, or search for and use other's data

Data Directories

• re3data - A global registry of research data repositories many disciplines.
• Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)
• Harvard Dataverse
• Subject Specific Repositories (from the University of Ohio Library)

General Sciences

• Dryad
• figshare- Accept a wide variety of file types, such as figures, datasets, images, and videos.

Life Science

• Genbank - The NIH genetic sequence database
• Protein Databank - A worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids

Social Science

• ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) - Maintains and provides access to a vast research archive of more than 500,000 data files in social science

Earth Science

• DataONE Search - A network of data centres, etc. focusing on Earth observational data.
• IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library - Climate-related datasets from different countries and regions.

Computer Science

• GitHub - Millions of developers use GitHub to build personal projects, support their businesses, and work together on open source technologies.
• SourceForge - is an Open Source community resource dedicated to helping open source projects be as successful as possible. We thrive on community collaboration to help us create a premiere resource for open-source software development and distribution.

1. Data.gov.hk - The datasets are provided by different government departments and public/private organizations.
2. Data.gov - The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
3. The European Union Open Data Portal - Open data from European Union institutions.
4. Data.gov.uk - Data from the UK government departments and agencies, public bodies, and local authorities.
5. Canada Open Data is a pilot project with many government and geospatial datasets.
6. The CIA World Factbook - Information on history, population, economy, government, infrastructure and military of 267 countries.
7. Healthdata.gov - 125 years of US healthcare data including claim-level Medicare data, epidemiology and population statistics.
8. Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX) -  from the U.N. Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian (OCHA) H has UN data, Facebook public datasets, Red Cross, and hundreds of other organizations.
9. UNICEF offers statistics on the situation of women and children worldwide.
10. WHO | Global Health Observatory (GHO) data offers world hunger, health, and disease statistics.
11. Amazon | AWS Public Data Sets - a Huge resource of public data, including the 1000 Genome Project, an attempt to build the most comprehensive database of human genetic information and NASA’s database of satellite imagery of Earth.
12. Google Public data includes data from world development indicators, OECD, and human development indicators, mostly related to economics data and the world.
13. ​Google Trends - Statistics on search volume (as a proportion of total search) for any given term, since 2004.

To help HKUST students & staff who want to do text and data mining (TDM) with Library subscribed material, we created a  Library Guide to help you know different publishers and aggregators policies in TDM:

• Text and Data Mining (TDM) from HKUST Licensed Material
  • Constellate - Provides Text and data mining tools and teaching with JSTOR, Portico, and other IThaka collections
  • Gale Digital Scholarship Lab -  a platform for text analysis, data mining, and data visualization.  You can create &  analyze content sets from licensed content in “Gale Primary Sources” collections,

• NIH Data Sharing and Reuse Seminar Series
  • Recordings of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Data Science Strategy once a month seminar series highlighting exemplars of data sharing & reuse.

Library workshops on Data Discovery & Citation are offered every semester.