Applied Linguistics, TESOL, TEFOL, ESL, CFL, Chinese teaching, & English Teaching: Books & Articles

Click on these links to find articles, books and journal titles in these different subjects. These are "live" queries of the Library Catalog and PrimoCentral

• Applied Linguistics
• Chinese as a Second Language
• Chinese language -- Composition and exercises
• Chinese language -- Grammar
• Chinese language -- Writing
• Chinese language -- Study and teaching
• English as a Second Language
• English language -- Business English
• English language -- Composition and exercises
• English language -- Grammar
• English language -- Study and teaching
• English language -- Study and teaching (Higher) -- Foreign speakers
• Reading (Higher education)
• Second language acquisition
• Writing (Higher education)

• Articles or short chapters with authoritative overviews & reviews of special topics
• Good place to browse to get ideas for research questions Library subscribed & many online
• Written by scholars and experts
• Often provide useful references at end of articles or chapters

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Brooks, P., & Kempe, Vera. (2014). Encyclopedia of Language Development. Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Brown, E., & Anderson, Anne. (2006). Encyclopedia of language & linguistics (2nd ed.). Oxford : Boston: Elsevier. (P29 .E48 2006 v. 1-14)

Doughty, C., & Long, Michael H. (2005). The Handbook of Second Language Acquisition. Blackwell Online Reference.

Gass, S., & Mackey, Alison. (2012). The Routledge handbook of second language acquisition. London: Routledge.(P118.2 R68 2012)

Chapelle, C. (2013) The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics. Wiley Online Library.

Language Dictionaries -with word origins

OED: Oxford English dictionary  [online]

辭源. (1991).商務書館香港有限公司. (PL1420 .C6 1991)

漢語大詞典&康熙字典.(2008). 中国学术期刊电子杂志社 (online resources)

象形字典 - vividict.com (2010)

Click on these links to find books in these different subjects. These are "live" queries. of the Library Catalog only (mostly books and journal titles)

• Applied linguistics
• Chinese as a Second Language
• Chinese language -- Composition and exercises
• Chinese language -- Grammar
• Chinese language -- Writing
• Chinese language -- Study and teaching
• English as a Second Language
• English language -- Business English
• English language -- Composition and exercises
• English language -- Grammar
• English language -- Study and teaching
• English language -- Study and teaching (Higher) -- Foreign speakers
• Reading (Higher education)
• Second language acquisition
• Writing (Higher education)

Some Useful Article Databases

• 中國期刊全文數據庫. Selections.
• Academic Search Premier  (EbscoHost sub-set)
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)  (ProQuest sub-set)
• MLA International Bibliography
• Research Library (Proquest sub-set)
• Scopus
• Web of Science

What if an article is not available in the Library?.

• Use the Library's Interlibrary Loan service

If you like to browse E-journals, Go here:

• Applied Linguistics
• ELT
• Language Learning
• Second Language
• TESOL