Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Applied Linguistics, TESOL, TEFOL, ESL, CFL, Chinese teaching, & English Teaching: Books & Articles

This guide was created for members of HKUST Center for Language Education to help them find Library resources in the areas of Applied Linguistics, TSEOL, TEFOL, ESL, CFL, Chinese teaching, & English Teaching

Searching HKUST Library's Collection

This page makes a "live catalog" of books, articles, and journal titles, through live query of PowerSearch.  Other tabs on this guide give some quick information about advanced search techniques, saving searches, and creating your own alerts.

You can access the full PowerSearch Guide here

You can browse the Library's New Arrivals here

Specialist Encyclopedias, Dictionaries or Handbooks

  • Articles or short chapters with authoritative overviews & reviews of special topics
  • Good place to browse to get ideas for research questions Library subscribed & many online
  • Written by scholars and experts
  • Often provide useful references at end of articles or chapters

Brooks, P., & Kempe, Vera. (2014). Encyclopedia of Language Development. Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Brown, E., & Anderson, Anne. (2006). Encyclopedia of language & linguistics (2nd ed.). Oxford : Boston: Elsevier. (Reference P29 .E48 2006 v. 1-14)

Doughty, C., & Long, Michael H. (2005). The Handbook of Second Language Acquisition. Blackwell Online Reference.

Gass, S., & Mackey, Alison. (2012). The Routledge handbook of second language acquisition. London: Routledge.(P118.2 R68 2012)

Chapelle, C.(2012). The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics. Wiley Online Library.

Language Dictionaries -with word origins

The Oxford English Dictionary. (Reference PE1625 .O87 1989)

辭源. (1991).商務書館香港有限公司. (Reference PL1420 .C6 1991)

漢語大詞典&康熙字典.(2008). 中国学术期刊电子杂志社

漢語大字典(1986-1990). 漢語大字典編輯委員會 (Referenece PL1420 .H3494 1986)

象形字典 - vividict.com (2010)

 

 

 

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.