Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHYS 2080 - Physics Seminar: Library Resources

Search for scientific literature effectively

Reference and Dictionaries

  • Particle Physics News and Resources

    The Interactions.org web site is designed to serve as central resource for information about particle physics, including press releases, articles, news, event listings and images.

  • The Physics Encyclopedia

    This WebSite provides exhaustive, comprehensive, carefully selected and structured lists on Internet physics resouces

  • Encyclopedia of physics - Scholarpedia

    Scholarpedia is a peer-reviewed open-access encyclopedia written and maintained by scholarly experts from around the world. Scholarpedia is inspired by Wikipedia and aims to complement it by providing in-depth scholarly treatments of academic topics.

  • Eric Weisstein's World of Physics

    Online encyclopedia of physics terms and formulas. Full searchable, and also browsable alphabetically and by topic. Part of Eric's Treasure Troves of Science.

  • The Net Advance of Physics

    MIT resource providing discussions at various levels of sophistication that cover all areas of physics.

  • Home Oxford Reference

    The public site for Oxford Reference Online

Databases

  • arXiv.org e-Print archive
  • Engineered Materials Abstracts (1986-)
  • IEEE Xplore
  • INSPEC and INSPEC Archive (1898-)
  • Metadex (1966-)
  • MRS Online Proceedings Library (1998-)
  • NASA Astrophysics Data System
  • PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive) (1893-)
  • Scitation

Internet Resources

Institute of Physics (UK)
http://www.iop.org/
American Institute of Physics (USA)
http://www.aip.org/
A Walk through Time
http://physics.nist.gov/GenInt/Time/time.html
Physical Review Focus
https://www.aps.org/publications/apsnews/199811/focus.cfm​
Physics 2000
http://www.physics2000.com/
Physics Zone
http://www.sciencejoywagon.com/physicszone/
The Particle Adventure
http://particleadventure.org/​
TIPTOP: The Internet Pilot to Physics
http://physicsweb.org/TIPTOP/
Amusement Park Physics
http://www.learner.org/exhibits/parkphysics/
Contemporary Physics Education Project (CPEP)
http://pdg.lbl.gov/cpep.html
ask-science
http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/ask-science
The International Association for Astronomical Studies (IAAS)
http://www.iaas.org
Physical Reference Data (NIST) 

http://www.cpepweb.org/

© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.