Skip to main content

RefWorks: Import References

Import References

Import References from Databases

RefWorks provides three options for adding references to your database:

  • Direct Export - Export citations to RefWorks directly from databases with just a few clicks. Only works in selected databases.
  • Import Data from Saved Text Files - Save references as a text file (.txt) in the databases and export to RefWorks using different filters.
  • Manual Import - For databases that do not have the above two features, users can manually add references to RefWorks by entering the required information.

Below you will find importing procedures for major databases the Library subscribes to.

HKUST Power Search - Library Catalog
中國期刊全文數據庫
American Chemical Society
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Databases
EBSCOhost Research Databases
Google Scholar
IEEE Xplore
JSTOR
MathSciNet
Ovid
ProQuest
ScienceDirect
SciFinder Scholar
Scirus
Scopus
SpringerLink
Web of Science
Wiley Interscience

For databases not listed here, please refer to RefWorks Help pages.

 

Databases

HKUST Power Search - Library Catalog

Export Book Record

  1. Conduct your search in PowerSearch.
    Book record
  2. Click Availability to show the full record, choose RefWorks from the Actions drop-down menu.
  3. You will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  4. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Export A Batch of Records

  1. Conduct your search in the PowerSearch.
  2. Click Availability to display the full book record, and select Add to e-Shelf from the Actions drop-down menu.
  3. Repeat step 1 and 2 to add more books. To save the records permanently, click Sign in and register with your ITSC user name and password.
  4. Mark the checkbox(es) in the e-shelf (basket), select Push to RefWorks from the Select how to save menu, and click Go to continue. 
  5. You will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
    PowerSearch - Export ot RefWorks

Back to Top


中國期刊全文數據庫 CAJ Full-Text Database

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Mark the records you wish to save by checking the boxes.
  3. Click on 存盤.
  4. Select one output option for 輸出格式 and click RefWorks.
  5. Save the txt file to your computer.
  6. Select References / Import from the toolbar.
  7. Select RefWorks Tagged Format as the Import filter and Database.
  8. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
  9. Select UTF-8 as the Encoding.
  10. Click Import and your records should appear in the Last Imported folder.

Back to Top


American Chemical Society (ACS)

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Mark the "Select Citation" boxes for the records you want to export.
  3. Click Download Selected Citations.
  4. Choose the type of download.
  5. Select RefWorks in the drop-down box and click Download.
  6. Click Export to RefWorks button.
  7. Your record should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Databases

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Select the records you want to export and click the RefWorks icon.
  3. Click the Export to RefWorks button and the references will be automatically exported to RefWorks.
  4. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

If you do not see a RefWorks link, click the Save, Print, Email link.

Back to Top


EBSCOhost Research Databases

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Mark the records you wish to save by clicking Add to Folder.
  3. When you have marked all your records, under Folder has items, click Folder View.
  4. Mark the records you want to export and click the Export icon export.
  5. Select Direct Export to RefWorks, and click Save.
  6. You will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


Google Scholar

To activate the direct export function, you must configure Google Scholar by clicking the Scholar Preferences link and selecting RefWorks as your default in Bibliography Manager.

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar.
  2. Each record displayed will have an Import into RefWorks link. Clicking on the link will launch the RefWorks login page.
  3. Once you have logged in, you are brought automatically to the Edit view of the reference. If you do not wish to edit the record, you can navigate to any other area of RefWorks.
  4. Your record is stored in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


IEEE Xplore

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Mark the records you wish to save by checking the boxes.
  3. Click on view selected items to retrieve the records.
  4. In the Download Citations box on the left of the page, select Citation from the drop-down menu, and RefWorks in the second drop-down menu.
  5. Click >> to proceed, you will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


JSTOR

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Select the records you want to export and click Export this Citation.
  3. You are brought to the Export Citations page and select RefWorks.
  4. You will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  5. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


MathSciNet

  1. Perform your search.
  2. Click on Clipboard to select the records you want to export.
  3. At the top of the page, select Clipboard to view the items you have saved.
  4. Choose Citations (BibTex) in the Select Format drop-down menu.
  5. Click SaveClip.
  6. Using your browser's Save As function, save the file in a text (.txt) format.
  7. Log in to RefWorks.
  8. Select References / Import from the toolbar.
  9. Select BibTex as the Import Filter/Data Source and MathSciNet (AMS) (BibTex format) as the Database.
  10. Browse to locate the text file you saved to your computer.
  11. Click Import and your records should appear in the Last Imported folder.

Back to Top


Ovid

  1. From your search results, select the items you wish to save by clicking the checkboxes to the left.
  2. In the Results Manager menu at the bottom, select one of the Field options (e.g. Citation+Abstract).
  3. Select Direct Export for Result Format.
  4. Click Save in Actions.
  5. Select Export results to RefWorks and click continue.
  6. You will be prompted to log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


ProQuest

  1. Conduct a search and mark the references you want to export.
  2. Click the Export link.
  3. Select Export directly to RefWorks.
  4. The export will open RefWorks if it is not already open and automatically import the references.
  5. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


ScienceDirect

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Mark the records you wish to save by checking the box next to each record.
  3. Click Export Citations.
  4. Specify Content Format and select RefWorks Direct Export.
  5. Click the Export button and it will open RefWorks Login page.
  6. Log in to RefWorks.
  7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


SciFinder Scholar

  1. Conduct your search and select the references you want to export.
  2. Select Save As from the top of the search screen.
  3. Enter the filename and choose Tagged Format (.txt) as the Save As Type.
  4. Log in to RefWorks.
  5. Select References / Import from the toolbar.
  6. Select CAS SciFinder as the Import Filter/Data Source and CAPlus as the Database.
  7. Browse to locate the text file you saved to your disk.
  8. Click Import.
  9. Your records should appear in the Last Imported folder.

Back to Top


Scirus

  1. Mark the records you wish to save by checking the box next to each record.
  2. Select Export Checked Results.
  3. In the Export area, select Citations, abstracts and keywords.
  4. Select RIS as the File Format.
  5. In the Save or Display area, select Save File to Disk or Open Reference Software.
  6. Click Export and you will be prompted to save the file in RIS format.
  7. Log in to RefWorks.
  8. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
  9. Select RIS Format as the Import Filter/Data Source and the Database.
  10. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
  11. Click Import.
  12. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


Scopus

  1. From your search results, select the items you wish to save by clicking the checkboxes to the left of the citations.
  2. Select Export -> RefWorks direct export
  3. Citations only is the default for Export. You can switch another output format (e.g., Citations and abstract information).
  4. Click the Export.
  5. Log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  6. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


SpringerLink

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Click Add to marked items to mark records for export.
  3. Select Marked Items on the left-hand navigation menu.
  4. Click on the Download This List icon at the top.
  5. Select RIS to export the citations.
  6. You will be prompted to save a .ris file to your computer, so click the Save button.
  7. Log in to RefWorks.
  8. Select References / Import from the toolbar.
  9. Select RIS as the Import Filter/Data Source and Database.
  10. Browse to locate the text file you saved to your disk.
  11. Click Import and your record should appear in the Last Imported folder.

Back to Top


Web of Science

  1. From your search results, select the items you wish to save by marking the checkboxes to the left of the citations.
  2. Scroll down to the bottom page and find Output Records.
  3. In Output Records, choose your options.
  4. Click Save to RefWorks to open the Processing Records page.
  5. If the export process does not start automatically, click on the Export button.
  6. Log in to RefWorks.
  7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top


Wiley InterScience

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Select the records you want to import.
  3. Click Download Selected Citations at the bottom of the screen.
  4. Select Plain Text as your format and Abstract and Citation as your Export Type. Also select the appropriate file type.
  5. You will be prompted to save a .txt file to your computer. Enter filename and click Save.
  6. Log in to RefWorks.
  7. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
  8. Select Wiley InterScience as the Input Filter/Data Source and as the Database.
  9. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
  10. Click Import and your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.

Back to Top

Subject Guide

Kevin Ho's picture
Kevin Ho
Contact:
HKUST Library
23586761
© HKUST Library