Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics: Reference Tools

Reference Tools

Databases


Dictionaries

A dictionary of physics
(E-book 2019)
Dictionary of physics
(Reference QC5 .D483 2004)
Dictionary of pure and applied physics
(Book Collection QC5 .D485 2001)


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of physical science and technology
(Q123 .E497 1992)
Encyclopedia of physics
(Reference QC5 .E545 2005)
The Encyclopedia of physics
(QC5 .E546 1990)
Encyclopedic dictionary of condensed matter physics
(Reference QC176.A3 E5913 2004)
McGraw-Hill yearbook of science & technology
(E-book & Q121 .M312)


Handbooks

American Institute of Physics handbook
(QC61 .A5 1972)
Concise handbook of mathematics and physics
(QC61 .A4813 1997)
Landolt-Bornstein: numerical data and functional relationships in science and technology
(On Call Collection QC61 .L33-L354)


Internet Resources

IOP Physics Reviews
This service brings together review articles published in IOP's journals including topical reviews and reviews from Reports on Progress in Physics.

Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme® (PACS)
PACS, developed by the American Institute of Physics, is widely used in journal publication to identify fields and sub-fields of physics.
 

Books & Periodicals

Search the Library Catalog using subject headings for all print and non-print materials (books, journals, magazines, newspapers, theses, electronic resources, media, microforms, etc.):

undefined

 

Subject Headings:

  • Condensed matter
  • Fluid mechanics
  • Lasers 
  • Nuclear physics
  • Optics 
  • Physics 
  • Rheology 
  • Solid state physics
  • Thermodynamics

 

Style Guides

AIP style manual: for guidance in writing, editing, and preparing physics manuscripts for publication.
(Reference QC5.45 .A45 1990)
Guide to the successful thesis and dissertation : a handbook for students and faculty
(LB2369 .M376 1993)
MLA handbook
(Reference LB2369 .G53 2016)

Reference Librarian

Profile Photo
Lewis Li
Contact:
Office: RM G342

Direct: 2358-6769

Email: lblewis@ust.hk

HKUST Wushu Coach
Website
Contact: LinkedIn Page
Subjects: Science
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.