Skip to main content

Mathematics: Reference Tools

Guide to mathematics resources

Reference Tools

Databases


Dictionaries

數學史辭典
(Reference QA5 .S498 2000)
數學名詞(第四版)
(E-book 2014)
中學數學科常用英漢辭彙=English-Chinese glossary of terms commonly used in the teaching of mathematics in secondary schools
(Reference QA41.3 .Z56 1991)
The concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics
(E-book 2014)
Dictionary of classical and theoretical mathematics
(QA5 .D4984 2001)
A dictionary of statistics
(E-book QA276.14 .U67 2014)
Elsevier's dictionary of mathematics, in English, German, French and Russian
(Reference QA5 .E48 2000)
Encyclopedic dictionary of mathematics, 4 volumes
(Reference QA5 .I8313 1987)
Facts on File dictionary of mathematics
(Reference QA5 .F35 1999)


Encyclopedias

CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics
(Reference QA5 .W45 2003)
Encyclopaedia of mathematics, 10 volumes
(Reference QA5 .M3713 1988)
Encyclopedia of mathematics and its applications
(Call numbers vary)


Handbooks and Tables

CRC standard mathematical tables and formulae
(E-journal QA47 .C53 1991-)
Handbook of mathematical functions with formulas, graphs, and mathematical tables
(QA47 .H35 1972)
Mathematics handbook for science and engineering
(E-book QA41 .R34 2004)
Table of integrals, series, and products
(Reference QA55 .G6613 2000)


Indexes

Current index to statistics, applications, methods and theory
(Reference QA276.A1 C87)
Index of mathematical papers
(Reference QA1 .M762)
Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik, 1868-1942
Mathematical reviews
(Reference QA1 .M76)
Statistical theory and method abstracts
(Periodical HA1 .S764)
Zentralblatt für Mathematik und Ihre Grenzgebiete=Mathematics abstracts
(Reference QA1 .Z4)


Internet Resources

EMIS: the European Mathematical Information Service

The Jahrbuch Project

CTAN: the Comprehensive TeX Archive Network

Major project of digitized mathematical text:
Cornell Historical Math Monographs Project
The Electronic Library of Mathematics
University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection


Media Resources

AMS selected lectures in mathematics (16 videocassettes)
(Call numbers vary)
By the numbers: practical applications of business mathematics (26 videocassettes)
(Media Resources HF5691 .B9 1989)
Efficient algorithms & intractable problems (41 lectures in 20 videocassettes)
(Media Resources QA9.6 .B58 1988)
The fantastic world of M.C. Escher
(Media Resources NE670.E75 F35 1994)
Introduction to pure mathematics (27 videocassettes)
(Media Resources QA3 .I577 1996)
Topics in the history of mathematics (5 videocassettes)
(Media Resources QA21 .H57 1987)


Periodicals

Search the Library Catalog using subject headings for all print and non-print materials (books, journals, magazines, newspapers, theses, electronic resources, media, microforms, etc.):

undefined

 

Subject Headings:

  • Algebra 
  • Computer science mathematics
  • Geometry 
  • Mathematical statistics
  • Mathematics
  • Parallel processing (electronic computers) 
  • Probabilities
  • Topology 


Style Guides

Writing Guides and Manuals​

Guide to the successful thesis and dissertation : a handbook for students and faculty
(LB2369 .M376 1993)
Handbook of writing for the mathematical sciences
(E-book QA42 .H54 1998)
Mathematical writing
(QA42 .K58 1989)
A primer of mathematical writing : being a disquisition on having your ideas recorded, typeset, published, read and appreciated
(E-book QA42 .K73 2017)
Writing mathematics well : a manual for authors
(QA42 .G45 1987)

Reference Librarian

Lewis Li's picture
Lewis Li
Contact:
Office: RM G342

Direct: 2358-6769

Email: lblewis@ust.hk

HKUST Wushu Coach
Website
Subjects:Science
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.