Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
© HKUST Library, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. All Rights Reserved.
- The BBC video collection
This video collection covers more than 700 of the most-viewed BBC films. Topics span multiple subjects including world history, business & economics, engineering, politics & current affairs, human rights studies, science and lots more. Video Guide
- EBSCOhost Research Databases
Consists of eighteen databases which provide access to the full text/images of a large collection of ebooks, journals, magazines, reports, and newspapers in various disciplines. Cross searching among the databases is allowed. Search Guide
Dow Jones.com is a premier business and general reference database with over 14,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. This broad range of content provides 3,500 newspapers, 700 continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, 4,200 journals and magazines, and thousands of websites, blogs, and multimedia items. Users can monitor current news, track industry developments and global market activity, and research a global company.
- Filmakers library online
This collection of streaming videos features 1,019 documentaries in 800 hours from around the world. The films cover a broad range of humanities and social science issues such as race and gender, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, environment, bioethics, health, politics, psychology, arts, literature, and more. The titles present points of view, and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. Some notable features are synchronized, searchable transcripts; visual tables of contents; personal playlists. Video Guide
Is a web-based service which provides users with seamless access to a large collection of citations and full-text/images of periodicals, magazines and newspapers in medical research, telecommunications and computer science, applied and general sciences, business, humanities and social sciences. Cross searching among the 35 databases is permissible. Emailing or downloading of full-text articles is also supported. Search Guide
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 2,100 international social sciences journals and selected relevant articles from 7,100 natural and physical science journals worldwide. The database also contains the references cited in the articles. It can be searched by keyword, author, source, author's affiliation, cited author, cited work and cited year. Search Guide
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts to articles in 12,600 academic journals, 750 conference proceedings, and 600 trade publications from over 4,000 international publishers. Subject coverage includes science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences. The database also contains the reference cited in those articles published from 1996 onwards. Most records in Scopus are linked to the corresponding original articles at the publishers' web sites. Full-text access is limited to the publications for which the Library has an electronic subscription. Search Guide