This is the "Home" page of the "Web of Science (WOS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
HKUST Library Guides Banner

Web of Science (WOS)   Tags: database guide  

Last Updated: Feb 2, 2012 URL: http://libguides.ust.hk/wos Print Guide ShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Coverage

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1975 - present): it fully indexes over 7,100 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1975 - present): it fully indexes over 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990 - present): it covers conference literature in all scientific and technical fields.
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present): it covers conference literature in all fields of social sciences, arts, and humanities.
 

Search

  1. Select a timespan, the "year" refers to the year that the article information was entered in the database and not when the document was published.
  2. Choose the citation database(s).
  3. Lemmatization allows searching for a broader scope of functionality and includes synonyms, plurals and singulars.
  4. Select a search field (Topic, Title, Author, ResearcherID, Group Author, Publication Name, DOI, Year Published, Address and Conferences, etc.) from the drop-down list boxes.
  5. Use the drop-down menu to change the relationship between each search field to AND, OR or NOT.
  6. Enter search word(s) or phrase(s) in the query box.
  7. Click Search.
 

Search Fields

Field Name Search Search Tips and Examples
Topic Words/Phrases appear in article titles, abstracts or keyword lists -Use quotation marks to look for an exact phrase
e.g., "global warming"
Title Words/Phrases appear in article titles -Enter title word(s)/phrase(s)
e.g., "soil drainage"
Author Author names or editor names -Enter last name first and followed by a space and up to five initials
-Use * [asterisk] if not sure of the initials

e.g., Herlert A*
-Use Author Finder to distinguish one author from another by field of research and/or institution
Group Author Organizations or institutions credited with authorship -Click the Group Author Index icon group author to access a list of authors that you can add to your query 
e.g., AMER ACAD FAMILY PHYSICIANS
Publication Name Series and journal titles -Enter full or partial publication name
e.g., Journal of Manage*
-Use Publication Name Index publication index to access a list of titles 
Year Published Records published in a particular year -Enter a four-digit year or a range of years
e.g., 2002-2007
Address Author affiliations and addresses -Enter the institution and/or the department and/or place name (abbreviated words or phrases) from an author's address
e.g., Hong Kong Univ* Sci* Technol* and Biol*
Funding Agency Funding acknowledgment table -Enter the name of a funding agency
e.g., National Agency for the Promotion of Science and Technology
Grant Number Grant number field in Funding acknowledgement table

-Enter a partical of full grant number, both right- and left-hand truncation using wildcards is allowed

ResearcherID ResearcherID field

-Enter the ResearcherID number

Conference  Conference title, date, location and sponsor 

-Enter the conference name, location and year, use 'AND' to connect the words

 e.g Fiber Optics AND India AND 2000

 

Click Add Another Field link to include more search fields in your search.

 

Truncation Symbols

Symbol Meaning Examples
* [asterisk] zero to many characters enzym* will find records containing enzyme, enzymes, enzymatic, enzymic
? [question mark] single character wom?n will match woman and women
$ [dollar sign] zero or one character flavo$r finds flavor and flavour

 

Both right- and left-hand truncation can be used.

 

 

Boolean and Proximity Operators

Operator Meaning
AND find records including both terms
OR find records containing either one or both terms
NOT retrieve records with the first but not the second term
SAME retrieve records with two terms appearing in the same sentence
NEAR/x find records containing search terms that are within number of words of each other, x should be numeric value
 

Advanced Search

  • Use 2-character tags and boolean operators, to create your statement query.
  • e.g., TI=(sanit* AND (fruit* OR vegetable*))
  • To restrict your search, select one or more languages and/or document types.

 

HSS Librarian

Profile Image
Kitman Chan
Contact Info
Office Location : Reference Office
Phone: 2358 6763
Send Email
 

Search the Database

© HKUST Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip