This is the "Subject Directories" page of the "Searching Web Resources Efficiently: Quality Directories and Powerful Search Engines" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
HKUST Library Guides Banner

Searching Web Resources Efficiently: Quality Directories and Powerful Search Engines  

To introduce the tools and skills for searching free Web resources efficiently.
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2011 URL: http://libguides.ust.hk/searchweb Print Guide ShareThis

Subject Directories Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Directories

What is a Subject Directory?

  • A subject directory organizes websites by hierarchical subject categories.
  • Human editors select, annotate and classify websites for the directory.
  • Users can browse websites by subject categories or search for words in the titles and descriptions of the websites.

Selected Subject Directories

Internet Resources

  • Over 1,000 quality resources selected and annotated by HKUST librarians.

Open Directory [http://dmoz.org]

  • Over 4.9 million websites selected and annotated by more than 79,000 volunteer editors.

Yahoo! Directory [http://dir.yahoo.com/]

  • Started as a subject directory, it is now a portal site incorporating search engine, subject directory and other search services. Resources listed are mainly recommended and annotated by its users.

搜狐 [http://www.sohu.com]
雅虎中文 [http://chinese.yahoo.com]

  • Two biggest subject directories for Chinese Web resources.
  • Interface of 搜狐 is in GB Code (Simplified Chinese), but the directory covers resources in simplified as well as traditional Chinese.
  • Interface of 雅虎中文 is in Big5 Code (Traditional Chinese), but the directory covers both resources in simplified and traditional Chinese.

Timway (添達) [http://timway.com]

  • Directory of Hong Kong websites, Big5 interface, supports searching in English and Big5 Chinese.

More Web Directories

Engineering Librarian

Profile Image
Eunice Wong
Contact Info
Office Location : Reference Dept, Library G/F
Phone : 2358 6751
Send Email
 
© HKUST Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip