Skip to main content

Library Toolbox on Canvas: Home

The Library Toolbox provides quality information resources that have been selected based on their academic usefulness by librarians at HKUST. It helps students to select appropriate sources and use relevant information.

Library Toolbox

Introduction

To help students select appropriate sources and use relevant information for assignments and research papers, the Library has collaborated with CELT and ITSC to develop Library Toolbox, a handy feature embedded in the Canvas (previously in LMES). The toolbox presents a menu of useful library resources on Facts and Figures, Databases, Library Services, and Research Guides. It allows students to search and access Course Reserve, Library Catalog, Citation Manager, for finding journal articles and information, and to send questions to librarians on a single interface without leaving Canvas.


Library Toolbox on Canvas 

Default resources including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and databases are pre-defined for different schools and departments. Instructors and TAs have editing privileges to add or remove resources and make multiple selections of resources across different disciplines.

More than 200 resources are available on the Library Toolbox and they are divided into 3 categories including:

  • Facts & Figures - include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and statistics for quick reference
  • Databases - provide full images of different journals on both multi-disciplinary and subject specific databases
  • Library Services - include Course Reserve, Library Services for UG/PG, subject guides, library catalog and PowerSearch.

Library Toolbox on Canvas 2

To add or change the resources:

  • Select "Edit" on the homepage
     
  • Select School (e.g. SENG), click “Load” to show the general items. More specific items are available in the Division/Department (e.g CIVL, ECE) groups. Cross selections are allowed among Schools, Divisions and Departments.
     
  • Choose your resources, click "Add >>" to move the resources to your Selected Item box.
  • You can also arrange the resource orders by the  icon.
     
  • Click "Save" and return to the homepage.
     

If you have any questions/comments, please contact lbref@ust.hk

© 2017 HKUST Library