Skip to main content

Using E-books: Free E-book Resources

E-books for research use.

Google Books

Google Books is a searchable database consisting of books and magazine articles scanned by the Google Book project.

Open Library

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.

 

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital collection of books, websites, magazines, audio and video files, maps, and nearly 3 million public domain books.

Click here to access Internet Archive.

E-Books@Hong Kong Public Libraries

Thousands of e-books are now available at the Hong Kong Public Libraries (HKPL), enabling users to get online access to books without having to go to the Library. The seven diverse e-book databases consist of four English e-book databases, one English audio book database and two Chinese e-book databases.

Chinese E-books: 

  • Apabi eBook
  • Vista E-Book in Traditional Chinese

English E-books:

  • eBooks on EBSCOhost
  • ebrary Academic Complete
  • Safari Business Books Online
  • Safari Tech Books Online

English Audio Books:

  • Naxos Spoken Word Library

Users with HKPL valid Library Card or a Hong Kong smart ID card with Library services can now access the e-books via the Hong Kong Public Libraries e-books collection at http://www.hkpl.gov.hk/en/e-resources/e-books/home

Reference Librarian

Lewis Li
Contact:
Office: RM G342@Library

Direct: 2358-6769

Email: lblewis@ust.hk
Subjects:Science
© 2016 HKUST Library