Skip to main content

Using E-books: EBSCOhost

E-books for research use.

EBSCOhost Quick Facts

Formerly called NetLibrary, it provides full-text access to 42,000 titles. A wide range of subjects are covered, including arts & architecture, business & economics, computer science, engineering & technology, fiction, literature & criticism, mathematics, philosophy, psychology religion, etc. The database also supports full-text keyword searching and allows note-taking.

Main Site: http://library.ust.hk/cgi/db/ebsco.pl?netlib
Mobile Site: Yes (all smartphones and tablets are now auto-detected and automatically directed to the new EBSCOhost Mobile 2.0 website, with the exception of iPads, which are directed to the full desktop version of EBSCOhost)
Coverage: varies
Library Holdings: view catalog
Users: only one person can view or checkout a book at a time
Subjects: multi-disciplines
Features: create a personal account, sign in to take notes, save favorites, create folders on the personal bookshelf
Viewing Content: default plug-in EBSCOhost Content Viewer compatible with most web browsers
Printing: Up to 60 pages of an eBook can be printed or saved per user as a PDF file from within the eBook Full Text viewer.
Checkout:


1. To print (or save) e-books pages as a PDF:
- same page limits as for printing (maximum 60 pages).
- downloaded PDFs can be read by most mobile devices, including Kindles, without additional software.
- PDF files will not expire

2. Checkout an entire e-book in Adobe Digital Editions:
- patrons first need to create an Adobe account and install the Adobe Digital Editions (free online, Windows® and Mac OS)
- check-out period is 1 day

- up to 20 simultaneous checkouts per patron

3. Checkout an entire e-book in mobile device:
- patrons first need to create an Adobe account and install BlueFire Reader App (free online) on the mobile device
- check-out period is 1 day
- up to 20 simultaneous checkouts per patron

Placing a Hold on an e-book Yes
Supported mobile device or apps: - all iOS devices (iPhone, iPod touch, iPad)
- Adobe Digital Editions compatible eReader device
More Information: Online Help
Online Tutorials: Ebsco's training videos

 

Create an EBSCOhost Account

To set up a personal account:

  • From the Sign In Screen, click the Create a new Account link.
  • The Create a New Account Screen appears with Personal Account entered in the Account Type field. Fill in the fields on the Create a New Account Screen. When you have completed the fields, click Save Changes.
  • If all the information is accepted, a message will appear providing your user name and password. Click OK. You will be automatically logged in as a personal user. You should note the user name and password you created, so you can log in at a future session.

Searching and Navigating E-book on EBSCOhost

 

The default search screen for eBooks on EBSCOhost is basic search. There are several ways to search for eBooks on EBSCOhost:

  1. Perform a keyword search of the eBooks database using the Find field.
  2. Browse by Category by selecting a category from the column on the left.
  3. View the Latest Highlighted titles using the left and right arrows or click View All to view all highlighted titles.
  4. View Featured eBooks using the left and right arrows or click View All to view a result list of all Featured eBooks.

To search for eBooks:

  • Enter your search terms in the Find field and click the Search button.

  • A Result List of eBooks related to your search terms is displayed.
  • Click the eBook Full Text link to read the book in the eBook Viewer tool.

  • Click the Table of Contents link to view all the chapters of an eBook. You can go directly to a chapter by clicking on a hyperlinked chapter.

eBook Viewer:
eBooks can be read online in the eBook Viewer by clicking the eBook Full Text link on the Result List or Detailed Record.

  1. Click on the plus sign (+) to expand sections in the Table of Contents.
  2. Adjust the view to full-screen or full-page and zoom.
  3. Drag the location slider right or left to go to a specific page of the eBook.
  4. Click the magnifying glass icon to search for terms within the eBook.
  5. For most titles, you can print up to 60 pages at a time.
  6. Copy the permanent url to the book.

Printing or Saving E-Book Pages

Up to 40 pages of an e-book can be printed or saved per user as a PDF file from within the eBook Full Text viewer.

To print (or save) eBooks pages as a PDF:

  1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text Viewer
  2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the “Save Pages” icon in the right column

3. From the “Save Pages to PDF”, select:

  1. Current Page: save only the page that you are viewing

  2. Current page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to 60) in the field

  3. This section: Select to save the entire section of chapter of the eBook (if available to select)

4. Then select:

  1. Save PDF: To save the selected pages to your computer

  2. Send as an e-mail: To e-mail the selected pages as a PDF file to yourself

5. Open and print the saved PDF file 

 

Download an entire e-book in Adobe Digital Editions

You may choose to download an eBook to your computer and read it offline at a later time. Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing. This free software can be downloaded from this link.

To download an e-book:

  1. Click the Download (Offline) link for the e-book you would like to download. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so.

  2. Select to Open or Save the file from the resulting dialog box.

    - If you Open the file, your eBook is opened with Adobe® Digital Editions.
    - If you Save the file (.acsm), the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe® Digital Editions at a later time. 

  3. The e-book is added to the Checkout area of the My EBSCOhost folder, accessible from the upper-right corner of the EBSCOhost interface.

Download an entire e-book in mobile device

Apps for Android and iOS devices

1. EBSCOhost eBooks app:

  • The EBSCOhost eBooks app is available for:
  • Download and install the EBSCO eBooks app. Once installed, click to open the EBSCO eBooks app
  • You will be prompted to sign in with your Adobe account. If you don't have one yet, create one by clicking on "Create a free Adobe ID”.
  • To start searching:
    • Select “Find Books
    • Library locator: “Hong Kong”
    • Libraries found: “HONG KONG UNIV OF SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

  • Search and browse to find the titles you're interested in.
  • Select the option "Download (Offline)" to download the entire book.

  • If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost account, you are prompted to do so.
  • Select “Checkout & Download”, and click “Read Now.”

2. BlueFire Reader App
Learn more: http://www.bluefirereader.com/bfr-user-guide.html

  • Download and install the BlueFire Reader App. Once installed, click to open the BlueFire Reader.
  • You will be prompted to sign in to your Adobe account. If you don't have one yet, create one by clicking on "Create an account."
  • Go to the EBSCOhost e-book mobile site and sign in to your My EBSCOhost account.
  • Search for the e-book and select the option "Download (Offline)" to download the entire book.

2. Transferring a downloaded e-book from Adobe Digital Editions to other devices (but not Kindle)

Learn more: http://blogs.adobe.com/digitalpublishing/supported-devices

  • Connect your supported device to your computer.
  • Launch Adobe Digital Editions and you will be prompted to sign in your Adobe ID (Get your Adobe ID here).
  • Adobe Digital Editions automatically detects your device and may offer to authorize the device with your Adobe ID.
  • The device now appears as a new bookshelf in the library. Drag and drop the downloaded e-book title(s) you wish to transfer.

Placing a Hold on an e-book

If the e-book you have chosen to download is in use by another patron, you have the opportunity to place a hold on the e-book to download when it becomes available. Enter your e-mail address in the field provided and click the Place Hold button. 

The e-book is placed in the Holds area of your My EBSCOhost Folder. When the e-book is available, you are notified via the e-mail address you provided and the e-book appears in the Checkouts area of your folder. 

© 2017 HKUST Library