LANG 2030 - Technical Communication I

Google Patents 

• Covers the entire collection of granted patents and published patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and the European Patent Office (EPO). US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO to 1978.
• If more than one word is entered (e.g., energy saving), the search will be treated as: energy AND saving
• Use " " to search for phrase, e.g., "energy saving"
• Search tips
• Advanced Search available
• About Google Patents: find answers to some FAQs about Google Patents

Why and How to use Google Patent Search​ - Waterproof Shoes Video (3 min 57 sec)
 

Patsnap

• Provides access to 50 million+ worldwide patents published by the U.S., European, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, & WIPO.
• Full text/images are available for US, EP, WO, and CN patents and patent applications

Esp@cenet (Europe's Network of Patent Databases)

• Covers full text/images of US patents, British patents, French patents, German patents, Swiss patents, and patent applications published by the European Patent Office and the World Intellectual Property Office (WIPO). Also includes citations and abstracts of Chinese and Japanese patents, and citations of patents from over 50 other countries
• If more than one word is entered (e.g., energy saving), the search will be treated as: energy AND saving
• Use " " to search for phrase, e.g., "energy saving"
• Use * to find variant endings of the same root, e.g., light* will find light, lights, lighter, lightening, lighting, etc.