Skip to main content

Film Studies: Selected Internet Resources

This guide highlights general film resources available at HKUST Library and on the Web. Resources on particular films, directors, actors/actresses will not be covered.

Selected Internet Resources

Databases

中文電影資料庫 = Chinese Movie Database
The database contains information on Chinese-language movies including silent films produced in China from 1910 to 1930. Biographies of renowned actors and actresses, reviews, and news on awards are also provided.

台灣電影資料庫 = The Database of Taiwan Cinema
Contains a search engine for Taiwan films, related books and news.

Internet Movie Database
Over 120,000 movies with more than 1,750,000 filmography entries are covered in this database. Information associated with the movies, such as plot summaries, character names, ratings, and reviews, is listed in detail.

HKUST Library homepage-->Internet Resources--> Humanities and Social Sciences --> Performing Art
A site maintained by HKUST Library. The Performing Arts webpage provides links to performing arts sites.

New York Times Film Reviews Online
Browse or search 28,000 New York Times movie reviews. Included in the free review archive are all films reviewed since 1960, reviews of all Best Picture Academy Award winners, as well as The New York Times guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made.

Organizations

香港電影資料館 = Hong Kong Film Archives

電影服務統籌科 = Film Services Office

財團法人家電影資料館/台灣雹影斁位典藏中心 = Chinese Taipei Film Archive

AFI: American Film Institute

The official site for the American Film Institute (AFI), the national arts organization dedicated to preserving the heritage of film and television, identifying and training new talent, and increasing the recognition of the moving image as an art form.  It also includes 10 top 10 lists (America's 10 Greatest films in 10 classic genres).

Academic Film Archive of North America
Its mission is to acquire, preserve, document, and promote academic film by providing an archive, resource, and forum for continuing scholarly advancement and public exhibition. It also documents and archives historically important films not specifically in the academic genre, including anthropological, ethnographic, and medical subjects.

Australian Center for the Moving Image

BFI: British Film Institute
BFI promotes greater understanding and appreciation of, and access to, film and moving image culture in the UK.

International Federation of Film Archives

National Film Board of Canada

National Film Preservation Board (U.S.)

Online Film Critic's Society
OFCS is a respected professional organization for film critics.  Its works (including reviews, interviews and essays) appear primarily on the internet.

Film Review

香港電影評論學會 = Hong Kong Film Critics Society

香港影評人協會 = Hong Kong Film Critics Association

New York Times Film Reviews Online
Browse or search 28,000 New York Times movie reviews. Included in the free review archive are all films reviewed since 1960, reviews of all Best Picture Academy Award winners, as well as The New York Times guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made.

Rotten Tomatoes

Variety's film reviews

© 2016 HKUST Library