This is the "Finding Library Materials" page of the "Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
HKUST Library Guides Banner

Anthropology  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2011 URL: http://libguides.ust.hk/anthropology Print Guide ShareThis

Finding Library Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Library Materials

Finding Library Materials:

Classification System

In the Library collection, most materials on this interdisciplinary topic are classified in these ranges of Library of Congress call numbers.

Archaeology CC
Anthropology (all topics) GN
Physical Anthropology (including human
physical variation and human evolution)
GN49 - GN 295
Medical Anthropology GN296- GN298
Ethnology - Social and Cultural Anthropology GN301 - GN674
Prehistoric Archaeology GN700 - GN890
Folklore (all topics) GR1 - GR950
Folk medicine GR880
Manners and Customs (all topics) GT1 - 7070
Human body and its parts GT495 - GT499
Clothing and Dress GT500 - GT2370
Customs relating to private life (birth, death, marriage, etc.) GT2400 - GT3390.5
Customs relating to public & social life (festivals, holidays, etc.) GT3400 - GT5090

Subject Headings

In the Library Online Catalog, do a subject search on these suggested subject headings.



Databases

中國期刊全文數據庫 (世紀期刊) - 文史哲 (1950-1993) = Century Journals Social Sciences
中國期刊全文數據庫- 文史哲 (1994-)、教育與社會科學綜合 (2000-) 、政治軍事與法律 (2000-) 及經濟與管理 (2000-) = CAJ Full-Text Database
中文社會科學引文索引 = Chinese Social Sciences Citation Index (1998-2002)
Academic Research Library (Proquest)
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
The Anthropological Index Online
Bibliography of Asian Studies
PsycINFO
Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
SciVerse Scopus
Sociological Abstracts

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

人類學詞典
(Reference GN11 .J45 1991)
民族辭典
(Reference GN11 .M56 1984)
英漢漢英民族學朮語
(GN307 .Y56 1992)
The Dictionary of anthropology
(Reference GN307 .D485 1997)

Internet Resources


Library Home Page -> Internet Resources -> Humanities and Social Sciences -> Anthropology

Anthro-l Mailing list
A general anthropology mailing list, maintained by SUNY Buffalo.

Resources in Ethnographic Studies
A collection of resources in Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, Folklore, and Folklife from the Library of Congress of the United States of America.

Sociocultural Theory in Anthropology
Created by members of the Indiana University Anthropology Department, the pages cover sub-disciplines within the field, important organizations and associations, changes in anthropological perspectives over time, and prominent theorists.

Visualanthropology.net
A web site dedicated to visual anthropology and primarily addressed to scholars, students, video makers and ethno-photographers. In Italian, English, French and Spanish.

Periodicals

Electronic
Library Home Page -> Library Collections -> Electronic Journals Online -> Subject -> Anthropology | Ethnology | Folklore | Ethnomusicology | Human geography |

All Formats (Print, Electronic, Microform)
Library Home Page -> Library Catalog -> Subject -> Anthropology periodicals | Archaeology periodicals | Culture periodicals | Ethnology periodicals | Ethnopsychology periodicals | Folklore periodicals | Human Geography periodicals |

HSS Librarian

Profile Image
Victoria Caplan
 
© HKUST Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip